Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Parties Constituencies Candidates Results Past Elections Education
Antigua and Barbuda Government Structure

Antigua and Barbuda is a constitutional monarchy with a British-style parliamentary system of government. The reigning British monarch is represented in Antigua by an appointed Governor-General as the head of state. The government has three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.


The Government of Antigua and Barbuda is divided into three parts, or branches: the legislative branch, the executive branch, and the judicial branch.

Legislative Branch

The bicameral Parliament consists of the 19-member House of Representatives (17 members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies, 1 ex-officio member and 1 Speaker), responsible for introducing legislation, and the 17-member Senate, which reviews and gives assent to proposed legislation. Representatives are elected by popular vote in general elections that are constitutionally mandated every five years but may be called earlier. Senators are appointed by the Governor General. The major figures in Parliament and the government come from the House of Representatives. The Prime Minister is the leader of the party that holds the majority of seats in the House; the Opposition Leader is the representative, appointed by the Governor General, who appears to have the greatest support of those members opposed to the majority government. The Prime Minister creates an executive government and advises the Governor General on the appointments to thirteen of the seventeen seats in the Senate. The leader of the opposition, recognized constitutionally, is responsible for advising the Governor General on the appointment of the remaining four senators to represent the opposition in the Senate. The Opposition Leader also consults with the Governor General, in conjunction with the Prime Minister, on the composition of other appointed bodies and commissions. In this way, the opposition is ensured a voice in government.

Executive Branch

Antigua and Barbuda recognises Queen Elizabeth II as its head of state, while an appointed Governor-General serves as the Queen's representative in Barbados. Executive authority is vested in the Prime Minister and Cabinet, who are accountable to the legislative branch of government.  The leader of the majority party in the legislative branch, called the House of Representatives, serves as Prime Minister and head of government.  The Prime Minister appoints other members of Parliament to be his cabinet ministers.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch is relatively independent of the other two branches, although the magistrates are appointed by the Office of the Attorney General in the executive branch. The judiciary consists of the Magistrate's Court for minor offenses and the High Court for major offenses. To proceed beyond the High Court, a case must pass to the Eastern Caribbean States Supreme Court, whose members are appointed by the OECS. All appointments or dismissals of magistrates of the Supreme Court must meet with the unanimous approval of the heads of government in the OECS system; the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda acts on the recommendation of the attorney general in making decisions concerning this judicial body.

The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council, located in London, stands as the final court of appeal for Antigua and Barbuda.

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) is the proposed regional judicial tribunal to be established by the Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice.

ABLP = Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party; UPP = United Progressive Partry; DNA = Democratic National Alliance; ABTLP = Antigua and Barbuda True Labour Party; BPM = Barbuda Preople's Movemnet; ABPM = Antigua Barbuda People's Movement; IND = Independent Candidate; *incumbent; ** Political Leader
Antigua and Barbuda Electoral Commission. http://www.abec.gov.ag/
Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party. https://www.ablpantigua.com/
Antigua Barbuda True Labour Party. https://www.facebook.com/truelabourite/
Democratic National Alliance. https://www.facebook.com/DNAAntiguaBarbuda/
United Progressive Party. www.http://unitedprogressive.party
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 Antigua & Barbuda Country Profile
 Antigua & Barbuda Government Structure
 Antigua & Barbuda Election Basics
 The Parliament of Antigua & Barbuda
 Political History and Dynamics
 Electoral Legislation
 Antigua & Barbuda Heads of Government
 Antigua & Barbuda Timeline
 Teacher Resources
 Glossary of Election Terms
  Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party
  Democratic National Alliance
  United Progressive Party
  Barbuda People's Movement
  Go Green for Life
  Antigua Barbuda True Labour Party
  Missing Link VOP
Download ABLP 2018 Manifesto
Download UPP 2018 Manifesto
Download DNA 2018 Policy Document
Download Antigua & Barbuda Knowledge Centre
Learn more Heads of State
Learn more Heads of Government
Learn more Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us