Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
Anguilla Government Structure

Politics of Anguilla takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic dependency, whereby the Chief Minister is the head of government, and of a multi-party system.

The territory's constitution is Anguilla Constitutional Order 1 April 1982 (amended 1990).  Executive power is exercised by the Chief Minister and the Executive Council.  Legislative power is vested in both the Executive Council and the House of Assembly.  The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.  Military defence is the responsibility of the United Kingdom.


The Chief Minister of Anguilla is the head of government in the British Overseas Territory of Anguilla.  The Chief Minister is appointed by the Governor of Anguilla on behalf of the Monarchy of the United Kingdom, currently Queen Elizabeth II.

As Anguilla is a dependent territory of Great Britain, Anguilla's government is under the authority of the British government at Westminster, London.  The Governor is appointed by the Monarchy of the United Kingdom, currently Queen Elizabeth II.  The Governor is responsible for external affairs, internal financial affairs, defence, and internal security. 

The Chief Minister of Anguilla is the head of government in the British Overseas Territory of Anguilla.  The Chief Minister is appointed by the Governor of Anguilla and is the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition.

The Executive Council (cabinet) consists of the Chief Minister, three other ministers selected by the Governor from among the members of the House of Assembly, and the Attorney General and Permanent Secretary for finance, who serve ex officio both on the council and in the legislature.

Before Anguilla became a dependent British territory, the Chief Minister held executive power.  For two decades, the position of Chief Minister alternated between two political rivals: Ronald Webster of the People's Progressive Party, and Emile Gumbs of the Anguilla National Alliance.  Several coalition governments were formed during this period as Anguillans sought to obtain total independence from Saint Kitts.  The chief executive is now the Governor.  In 1990, the position of Deputy Governor was created.


Anguilla elects on territorial level a legislature.  The unicameral House of Assembly of Anguilla has 11 members, seven members elected by direct popular vote for a five-year term in single-seat constituencies; two ex-officio members and two nominated members are appointed to serve five-year terms. 

Anguilla has a multi-party system. 

The suffrage is from 18 years.


The Anguilla legal system is based on English common law in accordance with the Anguilla constitution.  Administered by the Magistrate’s Court, the High Court and the Court of Appeal of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court of Justice, there is a final right of appeal to the Privy Council in the United Kingdom.  The courts of Anguilla are:

  • The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London; this is Anguilla's final appeal court.
  • The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC), including: the Court of Appeal, and the High Court, based in Anguilla
  • Anguilla's domestic courts (which enjoy appeals to the Court of Appeal), including: the Magistrates' Court and the Juvenile Court

Judge selection and term of office:

Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court Chief Justice appointed by Her Majesty, Queen ELIZABETH II; other justices and judges appointed by the Judicial and Legal Services Commission; Court of Appeal justices appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 65; High Court judges appointed for life with mandatory retirement at age 62

download Members of the Cabinet of Assembly of Anguilla
download Members of the House of Assembly of Anguilla
download Organizational Chart of the Anguilla Public Service
AUF = Anguilla United Front; AUM = Anguilla United Movement; DOVE = The DOVE Party; IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
The Economist Intelligence Unit Ltd
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 Anguilla Country Profile
 Anguilla Government Structure
 Anguilla Election Basics
 The Parliament of Anguilla
 Anguilla Timeline
 Political History and Dynamics
 Electoral Legislation
 Anguilla Heads of Government
 Women in Politics in Anguilla
 Your Right to Vote
 Deciding Which For Candidate to Vote
 Election Debates
 Election Observers
 Teacher Resources
 Glossary of Election Terms
AUF Anguilla United Front (AUF)
AUM Anguilla United Movement (AUM)
Download AUF 2015 Manifesto
Download AUM 2015 Manifesto
Download Pam Webster2015 Manifesto
Download Anguilla Knowledge Centre
Learn more Voter Lookup
Learn more Anguilla Heads of Government
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us