Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates 2013 Results Past Elections Voter Education
Constituencies in Barbados
Barbados is divided into 30 electoral districts or constituencies. Select a constituency to learn more about the candidates and the constituency itself. 

After Barbados was settled by the Kingdom of England, a House of Burgesses was established to conduct the business of governance in the colony along with the Governor. From an early date, if not the beginning, there were two members of the House of Assembly for each parish; in 1843 two members were added for Bridgetown, bringing the total to 24 Members.

In 1971, dual representatives for each constituency were abolished in favour of single seat ridings and the entire island was divided into 24 constituencies. In 1981, three more constituencies were created; thus bring the total to 27. By the election of 1991 a 28th was added, and finally ahead of the 2003 general election two more were added bringing the national total to 30.

Number of Constituencies 12 24 27 28 30
Representatives per constituency 2 1 1 1 1
Elections 1951, 1956, 1961, 1966 1971, 1976 1981, 1986 1991, 1994, 1999 2003, 2008, 2013, 2018
Constituencies City of Bridgetown City of Bridgetown City of Bridgetown City of Bridgetown Bridgetown
St Michael St Michael North West St Michael South St Michael South St. Michael South
Christ Church St Michael West St Michael East St Michael East St. Michael East
St Philip St Michael North East St Michael South Central St Michael South Central St. Michael South Central
St George St Michael South West St Michael Central St Michael Central St. Michael Central
St John St Michael South East St Michael South East St Michael South East St. Michael South East
St Joseph St Michael North Central St Michael North East St Michael North East St. Michael North East
St James St Michael South Central St Michael North St Michael North St. Michael North
St Andrew St Michael South St Michael North West St Michael North West St. Michael North West
St Lucy Christ Church West St Michael West St Michael West St. Michael West
St Peter Christ Church North Central St Michael West Central St Michael West Central St. Michael West Central
St Thomas Christ Church South Central Christ Church West Christ Church West Christ Church West
  Christ Church East Christ Church West Central Christ Church West Central Christ Church West Central
St Philip North Christ Church East Central Christ Church South Christ Church South
St Philip South Christ Church East Christ Church East Central Christ Church East Central
St George North St Philip North Christ Church East Christ Church East 
St George South St Philip South St Philip North St. Philip North
St James St George North St Philip South St. Philip South
St Andrew St George South St George North St. Philip West
St John St John St George South St. George North
St Thomas St Joseph  St John St. George South
St Peter St Thomas  St Joseph St. John
St Lucy St James North St Thomas St. Joseph
St Joseph St James South St James North St. Thomas
  St Peter St James South St. James North
St Andrew  St Peter St. James South
St Lucy  St Andrew St. James Central
  St Lucy St. Peter
  St. Andrew
St. Lucy
  Bajan Free Party   NDP = National Democratic Party   United Progressive Party
  Barbados Integrity Movement   People's Democratic Congress   WPB = Workers Party of Barbados
  Barbados Labour Party   PEP = People's Empowerment Party   Independent Candidate
  Democratic Labour Party   PPA = People's Political Alliance   *incumbent
  Kingdom Government of Barbados   Solutions Barbados   ** Political Leader
Barbados Electoral and Boundaries Commission
Bajan Free Party (2018). Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/Bajan-Free-Party-BFP-HonAlex-MitchellEl-1767331239973521/
Barbados Integrity Movement (2018). Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/barbdaosintegritymovement/?ref=py_c
Barbados Labour Party. (2018). Retrieved from https://www.blp.org.bb/
Coalition of United Party. (2018) Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/alexmitchell.el/
Democratic Labour Party. (2018). Retrieved from http://dlpbarbados.org/site/
Solutions Barbados. (2018). Retrieved from https://solutionsbarbados.com/
United Progressive Party. (2018). Retrieved from https://uppbarbados.org/
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 City of Bridgetown
 St. Michael South
 St. Michael East
 St. Michael South Central
 St. Michael Central
 St. Michael South East
 St. Michael North East
 St. Michael North
 St. Michael North West
 St. Michael West
 St. Michael West Central
 Christ Church West
 Christ Church West Central
 Christ Church South
 Christ Church East Central
 Christ Church East
 St. Philip North
 St. Philip South
 St. Philip West
 St. George North
 St. George South
 St. John
 St. Joseph
 St. Thomas
 St. James North
 St. James South
 St. James Central
 St. Peter
 St. Andrew
 St. Lucy
  Bajan Free Party
  Barbados Integrity Movement
  Barbados Labour Party
  Democratic Labour Party
  Kingdom Government of Barbados
  People's Democratic Congress
  Solutions Barbados
  United Progressive Party
Download BLP 2018 Manifesto
Download DLP 2018 Manifesto
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | About Us | Contact Us