Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Electoral Districts Biographies Results Past Elections Voter Education
British Virgin Islands General Election Results - 16 June 2003

General Elections were held in the British Virgin Islands on 16 June 2003 for all 13 seats in the Legislative Council.

Electoral System

The British Virgin Islands elects on territorial level to a unicameral legislature. The Legislative Council consists of fifteen (15) members; thirteen (13) elected representatives for a four year term, nine (9) of whom are electoral district representatives and four (4) as territorial-at-large representatives, the Attorney General (non-voting, ex officio member) and one elected Speaker.
Political Parties & Candidates
Thirty-three candidates were officially been nominated to contest the 2003 election.

Election Campaign

In its 61-page manifesto, entitled "A Bright Future for the BVI", the incumbent Virgin Islands Party (VIP), led by Chief Minister Ralph O'Neal, highlighted major achievements during its 1999-2003 term in office. The party also outlined its development strategy for the islands, which called for a sharpening of focus on tourism; spreading democracy through the political process; improvements to the management of the environment; greater productivity in the BVI; as well as greater attention to the needs of vulnerable groups.
The National Democratic Party's (NDP) 31-page document had as its theme "This Election is about the Future". The party promised to bring about five essential changes for the BVI, including a strong economy and better health care for all; to fight to end corruption and wastage in government; to invest in education as well as in youth development and sports. The NDP also considered among matters of fundamental importance to the BVI to achieve a strong strategic position in the global community in the 21st ┬ácentury; full economic enfranchisement for all British Virgin Islands; establishment of the VI as the pre-eminent offshore financial services centre in the Caribbean; the creation of sustainable job opportunities for all our citizens and establishment of a knowledge-based culture with the priority being to create a first rate service oriented economy, second to none in the region.


The opposition National Democratic Party (NDP) took 54.4% of the vote and 8 of the 13 available seats on the Legislative Council.
Among the victorious NDP candidates were Dr Smith; Eileen Parsons, who was dismissed by O'neal as his deputy; and C. Alvin Christopher, who also left the VIP to join the NDP while Mark Vanterpool, who previously contested on an NDP ticket, was among the successful VIP candidates this time around. The other NDP winners were incumbents Dr Kedrick Pickering and Lloyd Black in Districts 7 and 8 respectively.
Among other VIP winners were O'Neal who retook his seat in District 9, his former deputy Julian Frazer, Andrew Fahie, the former Minister of Education, Mark Vanterpool, Omar Hodge and newcomer Delores Christopher.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 72.0% of the 10,161 registered voters.


After the election the NDP formed a Government for the first time in its history.

System First-past-the-post
Elected Members 13 seats: 9 in single-member constituencies;
4 at-large
Dissolution of House -
Nomination Day Mon, 2 Jun 2003
Polling Day Mon, 16 June 2003
First Meeting of Parliament Thu, 10 Jul 2003
  Photo D. Orlando SMITH
National Democratic Party (NDP)
  Photo Ralph T. O'NEAL
Virgin Islands Party (VIP)
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1950
   General Election Results 1954
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1960
   General Election Results 1963
   General Election Results 1967
   General Election Results 1971
   General Election Results 1975
   General Election Results 1979
   General Election Results 1983
   General Election Results 1986
   General Election Results 1990
   General Election Results 1995
   General Election Results 1999
   General Election Results 2003
   General Election Results 2007
   General Election Results 2011
   General Election Results 2015
National Democratic Party
Progressive Virgin Islands Movement
Progressives United
Virgin Islands Party
Download NDP 2019 Manifesto
Download PU 2019 Manifesto
Download PVIM 2019 Manifesto
Download VIP 2019 Manifesto
Download BVI Knowledge Centre
Learn more BVI Governors
Learn more BVI Deputy Governors
Learn more BVI Head of Government
Learn more BVI Leader of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Virgin Islands Office of the Supervisor of Elections
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us