Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Electoral Districts Biographies Results Past Elections Voter Education
British Virgin Islands General Election Results - 20 August 2007

General Elections were held in the British Virgin Islands on 20 August 2007 for all 13 seats in the House of Assembly.

Electoral System

The British Virgin Islands elects on territorial level to a unicameral legislature. The House of Assembly (formerly called the Legislative Council prior to 2007) consists of fifteen (15) members; thirteen (13) elected representatives for a four year term, nine (9) of whom are electoral district representatives and four (4) as territorial-at-large representatives, the Attorney General (non-voting, ex officio member) and one elected Speaker.


The House of Assembly was dissolved on 15 June 2007 and Polling Day was set for Monday 20 August 2007.  The issuance of the writs of Election signalled the date for nomination and the date for the General Elections. The writs were issued pursuant to sec. 24 of the Elections Act 1994 by His Excellency the Governor on the 20 July 2007.
With the coming into effect of Elections (Amendment) Act, 2007 - No. 1 of 2007 on the 12 January 2007 sec. 26(1) of the Principal Act was amended to increase the fees payable for nomination from $300 to $500. The coming into effect of the Virgin Islands Constitution Order No. 1678 of 2007 also brought into effect new qualifications and disqualifications for elected membership to the House of Assembly.

Political Parties & Candidates

Nomination Day was held on 9 August 2007. Thirty-five candidates were nominated. Of these, 23 candidates were nominated for the nine Local Electoral District seats and 12 candidates were nominated for the four seats in the Territorial Electoral District.
Of the 35 nominated candidates 25 were nominated by the two main political parties -- The Virgin Islands Party and the National Democratic Party. The other candidates were nominated as Independent Candidates.


The opposition Virgin Islands Party (VIP) made an almost clean sweep of the 15-member House of Assembly when it won 11 seats in the general elections. The VIP won three of the four at large seats, with former Chief Minister Dr Orlando Smith, who led the incumbent National Democratic Party (NDP) into the election, holding on to the fourth seat.  The NDP won only one other seat in the election with Dr Kedrick Pickering narrowly defeating Ronnie Lettsome in the Seventh District.  Independent Candidate J. Alvin Christopher, who was endorsed by the VIP, regained his seat in the second district, defeating the NDP's Gerald Chinnery.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 62.3% of the 10,150 registered voters.


On 22 August 2007, the Governor, David Pearey officially appointed Ralph O'Neal as the first Premier (as the position of Chief Minister will be called) under section 52(1) the new constitution. He became only the second person in BVI political history (after Lavity Stoutt) to serve two non-consecutive terms of office as Chief Minister/Premier, and only the third (Lavity Stoutt and Willard Wheatley) to win more than one general election as party leader (both since matched by Orlando Smith). On 23 August 2007, the first cabinet was sworn in under Ralph O'Neal.

The inaugural session of the House of Assembly was held on 14 September 2007.  Former teacher and government Personnel Department employee Roy Harrigan of Virgin Gorda was unanimously elected speaker. Businessman and former speaker Keith Flax was named the new deputy speaker.
System First-past-the-post
Elected Members 13 seats: 9 in single-member constituencies;
4 at-large
Dissolution of House Fri, 15 Jun 2007
Nomination Day Thu, 9 Aug 2007
Polling Day Mon, 20 Aug 2007
First Meeting of Parliament Fri, 14 Sep 2007
  Photo D. Orlando SMITH
National Democratic Party (NDP)
  Photo Ralph T. O'NEAL
Virgin Islands Party (VIP)
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1950
   General Election Results 1954
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1960
   General Election Results 1963
   General Election Results 1967
   General Election Results 1971
   General Election Results 1975
   General Election Results 1979
   General Election Results 1983
   General Election Results 1986
   General Election Results 1990
   General Election Results 1995
   General Election Results 1999
   General Election Results 2003
   General Election Results 2007
   General Election Results 2011
   General Election Results 2015
National Democratic Party
Progressive Virgin Islands Movement
Progressives United
Virgin Islands Party
Download NDP 2019 Manifesto
Download PU 2019 Manifesto
Download PVIM 2019 Manifesto
Download VIP 2019 Manifesto
Download BVI Knowledge Centre
Learn more BVI Governors
Learn more BVI Deputy Governors
Learn more BVI Head of Government
Learn more BVI Leader of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Virgin Islands Office of the Supervisor of Elections
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us