Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Antigua Election Centre 2014 Political Parties Constituencies Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
Dominica General Election Results - 1 July 1985

General elections were held in Dominica on 1 July 1985 for the 21 elected seats in the House of Assembly using a first-past-the-post system.

Electoral System

The unicameral Parliament of Dominica, the House of Assembly, is composed of 21 elected Representatives, in single-member constituencies through a first-past-the-post system. Of the remaining eleven members, nine are appointed by the President (five on the advice of the Prime Minister and four on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition); and two - the Speaker and the Attorney General - are ex-officio. The normal duration of the legislature is five years.


The July 1985 parliamentary election was the first to take place in Dominica since the United States-Caribbean military intervention in Grenada OECS chairwoman, Charles, who had emerged as one of the most visible defenders of the intervention, portrayed the election as a choice between democracy and communism.

Political Parties & Candidates

Forty-nine candidates vied for the 21 seats at stake in the 1985 election.  Primary contenders in the elections were the ruling Dominica Freedom Party (DFP), led by Prime Minister Mary Eugenia Charles, and the Labour Party of Dominica (LPD), headed by Michael Douglas; the LDP had been formed earlier in the year through a merger of the former Dominica Labour Party (DLP) and the United Dominica Labour Party (UDLP) of Rosie Douglas (brother of Michael Douglas).  The Dominica Progressive Force (DPF) was the fourth party contesting the election.

Election Campaign

During the campaign, Miss Charles pointed to her Government's record of having improved the economy (especially reductions in the unemployment and inflation rates) and virtually achieved food self-sufficiency in the country.  In foreign affairs, the DFP was regarded as pro-West. 

Prime Minister Charles charged that the DLP had become communist, and she accused opposition leaders of receiving funds from Cuba, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), and Libya. In an effort to create a new image, the DLP combined with other parties to form the LPD.


On polling day, the conservative DFP emerged with a slightly reduced but still dominant majority of Representatives.  The DFP captured 59 percent of the vote and 15 of the 21 elective House seats. Despite a slightly reduced majority, DFP support remained strong.

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 74.6%.


Prime Minister Charles was sworn in for a second five-year term on 3 July and, the next day, announced the formation of a reshuffled Cabinet.

Expand Map
System First-past-the-post
Elected Members 21 single-member constituencies
Total Valid Votes 33,281
Invalid Votes 284
Total Votes Cast 33,565
Population 80,000
Voting Age Population 44,960
Registered Voters 45,018
Voter Turnout 75.56%
Dissolution of House Wed, 5 Jun 1985
Nomination Day Mon, 17 Jun 1985
Polling Day Mon, 1 Jul 1985
First Meeting of Parliament Mon, 12 Aug 1985
Party Code Votes % votes Seats
Dominica Labour Party DLP 13,014 39.10% 5
Dominica Freedom Party DFP 18,865 56.68% 15
United Dominica Labour Party UDLP 558 1.68% 1
Dominica Progressive Party DPP 78 0.23% 0
Independents IND 766 2.30% 0
Total Valid Votes 33,281 100% 21
Expand graph
Expand graph
Expand graph Expand graph
ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY View all Members of Parliament of Barbados
The Dominica House of Assembly has 32 members, 21 members elected for a five year term in single-seat constituencies, 9 appointed senators, the Speaker and 1 ex-officio member.
Constituency Representative   Party
Castle Bruce Eden DURAND   Dominica Labour Party
Colihaut Clem SHILLINGORD   Dominica Freedom Party
Cottage Alleyne CARBON   Dominica Freedom Party
Grand Bay Pierre CHARLES   Dominica Labour Party
La Plaine Heskeith ALEXANDER   Dominica Freedom Party
Mahaut Brian G.K. ALLEYNE   Dominica Freedom Party
Marigot Pattison A.S. STEVENS   Dominica Freedom Party
Morne Jaune/Riviere Cyrique Conrad W. CYRUS   Dominica Freedom Party
Paix Bouche Roosevelt DOUGLAS   United Dominica Labour Party
Petite Savanne Ralph S. FADELLE   Dominica Freedom Party
Portsmouth Michael A. S. DOUGLAS   Dominica Labour Party
Roseau Central Mary Eugenia CHARLES   Dominica Freedom Party
Roseau North Allan A. GUYE   Dominica Freedom Party
Roseau South Ronan DAVID   Dominica Freedom Party
Roseau Valley Henry GEORGE   Dominica Freedom Party
Salisbury James ROYER   Dominica Freedom Party
Salybia Ann TIMOTHY   Dominica Freedom Party
St. Joseph Patrick R JOHN   Dominica Labour Party
Soufriere Charles A. MAYNARD   Dominica Freedom Party
Vieille Case Alexis WILLIAMS   Dominica Freedom Party
Wesley Robert Elford HENRY   Dominica Labour Party
Constituency Registered Voters Total Votes Voter Turnout
Castle Bruce 1,836 1,370 74.62%
Colihaut 1,124 880 78.29%
Cottage 1,341 1,046 78.00%
Grand Bay 2,749 1,834 66.72%
La Plaine 1,758 1,356 77.13%
Mahaut 2,962 2,403 81.13%
Marigot 1,901 1,317 69.28%
Morne Jaune/ Riviere Cyrique 1,024 841 82.13%
Paix Bouche 1,386 1,062 76.62%
Petite Savanne 1,763 1,342 76.12%
Portsmouth 2,000 1,489 74.45%
Roseau Central 3,200 2,139 66.84%
Roseau North 5,842 4,183 71.60%
Roseau South 2,848 2,114 74.23%
Roseau Valley 1,127 900 79.86%
Salisbury 1,792 1,475 82.31%
Salybia 1,315 1,058 80.46%
St. Joseph 2,095 1,592 75.99%
Soufreire 2,583 1,889 73.13%
Vieille Case 1,594 1,202 75.41%
Wesley 2,778 2,073 74.62%
Total 45,018 33,565 74.56%
DLP = Dominica Labour Party; UWP = United Workers Party; IND = Independent Candidate; *incumbent; ** Political Leader
Electoral Office of the Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election 1951
   General Election 1954
   General Election 1957
   General Election 1961
   General Election 1966
   General Election 1970
   General Election 1975
   General Election 1980
   General Election 1985
   General Election 1990
   General Election 1995
   General Election 2000
   General Election 2005
   General Election 2009
   General Election 2014
   General Election 2019
  Dominica Labour Party
  United Workers Party
Download Dominica Labour Party 2019
Download United Workers Party 2019
Download Dominica Knowledge Centre
Learn more Dominica Heads of State
Learn more Dominica Heads of Government
Learn more Dominica Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us