Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
Government Structure and Political System of Grenada

Politics in Grenada takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democracy, whereby the Prime Minister is the head of government. Grenada is an independent Commonwealth realm. It is governed under a multi-party parliamentary system whose political and legal traditions closely follow those of the United Kingdom; it has a prime minister and a cabinet, and a bicameral Parliament with an elected House of Representatives and an appointed Senate. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament. Constitutional safeguards include freedom of speech, press, worship, movement, and association. Grenada is a member of the eastern Caribbean court system. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. Jurisprudence is based on English common law.

The Government of Grenada is divided into three parts, or branches: the legislative branch, the executivebranch, and the judicial branch.


The Head of State

Grenada is a parliamentary democracy within the Commonwealth with Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as the nominal head of state represented in the country by the Governor-General.

The Prime Minister and Head of Government

The Prime Minister is appointed by the Governor-General as the Representative who appears likely to command the support of the majority of the Representatives in the House of Repreentatives.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is appointed by the Governor-General on the advice of the Prime Minister from the members of the House of Repreentatives, with no more than two members being drawn from the appointed senators.  The main function of the Cabinet is to advice the Governor-General and is collectively responsible to the House for any advice given to the Governor-General by or under the general authority of the Cabinet and for all things done by or under the authority of any Minister in the execution of his office.

Learn more about the Executive Branch of Government of Grenada »

The legislature is bicameral, with a lower house, the House of Representatives, and an upper house, the Senate. The country has 15 constituencies and these 15 single-member seats in the House of Representatives are contested in General Elections: members are elected by popular vote on a first-past-the-post basis, to serve five-year terms. The leader of the party securing the majority of seats in Parliament is named Prime Minister by the Governor-General. The leader of the party winning the next largest bloc of seats is named leader of the Opposition.

The 13 members of the Senate are appointed politically. The Prime Minister recommends the appointment of seven senators of his or her own choosing, plus an additional three senators who are to be selected in consultation with the organizations or interests which the Prime Minister considers the Senators should be elected to represent. These organizations and interests traditionally encompass agricultural and business groups as well as trade unions. The leader of the Opposition is entitled to nominate three Senators.

The suffrage is from 18 years.

Learn more about the Legislative Branch of Government of Grenada »

As in other English-speaking Caribbean countries, the judiciary in Grenada is rooted in British common law.  The judicary includes the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, consisting of a court of Appeal and a High Court of Justice (two High Court judges are assigned to and reside in Grenada); Itinerant Court of Appeal three judges; member of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ)

NNP = New National Party; NDC = New Democratic Congress; GEM = Grenada Empowerment Movement; GPM = Grenada Progressive Movement; GRP = Grenada Renaissance Party; GUPM = Grenada United Patriotic Movement; TLP = The Liberal Partry; TPP= The Progress Party; ULP = United Labour Platform; GULP = Grenada United Labour Platform; PLM = People's Labour Movement; GOD = Good Old Democracy; MBPM = Maurice Bishop Patriotic Movement; URP = United Republican Party; CDLP = Christian Democratic Labour Party; GFLP = Grenada Federated Labour Party;IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Grenada Parliamentary Elections Office
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
  Grenada Country Profile
  Grenada Government Structure
  Grenada Election Basics
  The Parliament of Grenada
  Political History and Dynamics
  Electoral Legislation
  Grenada Heads of State
  Grenada Heads of Government
  Grenada Leaders of the Opposition
  Grenada Timeline
  Women in Politics in Grenada
  Teacher Resources
  Glossary of Election Terms
  National Democratic Congress (NDC)
  New National Party (NNP)
  Grenada Empowerment Movement (GEM)
  Grenada Progressive Movement (GPM)
  Grenada Renaissance Party (GRP)
  Grenada United Patriotic Movement (GUPM)
  The Liberal Party (TLP)
  The Progress Party (TPP)
Download NDC 2018 Manifesto
Download NNP 2018 Manifesto
Download GEM 2018 Manifesto
Download TPP 2018 Manifesto
Download Grenada Knowledge Centre
Learn more Grenada Heads of State
Learn more Grenada Heads of Government
Learn more Grenada Leaders of the Opposition
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us