Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Anguilla Election Centre 2015 Political Parties Electoral Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Voter Education
Grenada General Election Results - 13 September 1962

Old Grenada Parliament Building

General elections were held in Grenada on 13 September 1962.

Electoral System

The 10 members of the Legislative Council were elected in single-member constituencies by first-past-the-post voting.


Grenada`s Administrator, the Queens representative on the island, James Lloyd suspended the constitution, dissolved the Legislative Council, and removed Eric Gairy as Chief Minister in June 1962, following allegations concerning the Gairy`s financial impropriety. Gairy had been Chief Minister for 10 months since August 1961 and his party the Grenada United Labour Party held a majority in the Legislative Council following the 1961 elections.  The negative publicity surrounding the removal of Gairy led to a significant fall in support for Grenada United Labour Party.

Political Parties & Candidates

Two political parties contested the election - the Grenada United Labour Party (GULP) and the Grenada National Party (GNP). The GULP presented nine candidates, GNP a full slate of 10 candidates, and there was also one independent candidate.


Herbert Blaize's Grenada National Party won six of the 10 seats and 53.73% of the vote. The Grenada United Labour Party won the remaining four seats and 45.98% of the votes.

Herbert Blaize was appointed Chief Minister for the second time.  Blaize served as Head of Government until the next general election in August 1967, initially as Chief Minister until March 1967, and subsequently when Grenada became a fully internally autonomous Associated State, as Grenada's first Premier. 

Voter Turnout

Voter turnout was 72.6%.

System First-past-the-post
Elected Members 10 single-member constituencies
Total Valid Votes 21,107
Invalid Votes 1,953
Total Votes Cast 23,060
Registered Voters 3,763
Voter Turnout 72.60%
Dissolution of House -
Nomination Day Sat, 25 Aug 1962
Polling Day Thu, 13 Sep 1962
First Meeting of Parliament -
ELECTORAL LEGISLATION View all Members of Parliament of Barbados
Grenada House of Representatives Election Act (1958) Download
  Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
  Grenada United Labour Party GULP 9,705 53.73% 9 4
  Grenada National Party Winner GNP 11,341 45.98% 10 6
  Independent Candidates IND 61 0.29% 1 0
  Total Valid Votes Total 21,107 100% 20 10
Constituency   Representative Party
St. George's Town   Edward Augustus MITCHELL Grenada National Party
St. George Parish North   Leonard Anthony PURCELL Grenada National Party
St. George Parish South   Eric Matthew GAIRY Grenada United Labour Party
St. John   McDonald Crysanthus Esyort WELSH Grenada National Party
St. Mark   Albert Oswald FORSYTH Grenada United Labour Party
St. Patrick   William Eric COPLAND Grenada National Party
St. Andrew North   Allen Leonard WILLIAMS Grenada United Labour Party
St. Andrew South   Ralph Matthias BHOLA Grenada National Party
St. David   Cynthia Bernadette GAIRY Grenada United Labour Party
Carriacou   Herbert Augustus BLAIZE Grenada National Party
Constituency Candidate Party  Votes Vote%
St. George's Town Edward A. MITCHELL Winner GNP 1,500 70.72%
M.Z. MARK GULP 621 29.28%
St. George Parish North Leonard .A. PURCELL Winner GNP 1,566 52.25%
E.V. JAMES GULP 1,431 47.75%
St. George Parish South A.M. CRUICKSHANK GNP 1,015 44.44%
Eric M. GAIRY Winner GULP 1,269 55.56%
St. John McConald C.E. WELSH Winner GNP 983 49.50%
Herbert J. PREDHOMME GULP 942 47.43%
C. FERGUSON IND 61 3.07%
St. Mark W.L. DUNCAN GNP 480 43.56%
Albert O. FORSYTH Winner GULP 622 56.44%
St. Patrick Wiliam E. COPLAND Winner GNP 1,795 62.18%
R.J. MOSES GULP 1,092 37.82%
St. Andrew North L.C.J. THOMAS GNP 1,234 48.41%
Allen L. WILLIAMS Winner GULP 1,315 51.59%
St. Andrew South Ralph M. BHOLA Winner GNP 1,610 59.94%
David T. SYLVESTER GULP 1,076 40.06%
St. David C. HYPOLITE GNP 1,158 46.41%
Cynthia B. GAIRY Winner GULP 1,337 53.59%
Carriacou Herbert A. BLAIZE Winner GNP unopposed -
Constituency GULP GNP IND Valid Votes
St. George's Town 621 1,500 - 2,121
St. George Parish North 1,431 1,566 - 2,997
St. George Parish South 1,269 1,015 - 2,284
St. John 942 983 61 1,986
St. Mark 622 480 - 1,102
St. Patrick 1,092 1,795 - 2,887
St. Andrew North 1,315 1,234 - 2,549
St. Andrew South 1,076 1,610 - 2,686
St. David 1,337 1,158 - 2,495
Carriacou - unopposed - -
Total 9,705 11,341 61 21,107
NNP = New National Party; NDC = New Democratic Congress; ULP = United Labour Platform; GULP = Grenada United Labour Platform; PLM = People's Labour Movement; GOD = Good Old Democracy; MBPM = Maurice Bishop Patriotic Movement; URP = United Republican Party; CDLP = Christian Democratic Labour Party; GFLP = Grenada Federated Labour Party;IND = Independent; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Grenada Parliamentary Elections Office
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
 PAST ELECTIONS learn more
   General Election Results 1951
   General Election Results 1954
   General Election Results 1957
   General Election Results 1961
   General Election Results 1962
   General Election Results 1967
   General Election Results 1972
   General Election Results 1976
   General Election Results 1984
   General Election Results 1990
   General Election Results 1995
   General Election Results 1999
   General Election Results 2003
   General Election Results 2008
   General Election Results 2013
   General Election Results 2018
  National Democratic Congress (NDC)
  New National Party (NNP)
  Good Old Democracy (GOD)
 PARTY 2013 MANIFESTOS learn more
Download NDC 2013 Manifesto
Download NNP 2013 Manifesto
Download GOD 2013 Manifesto
Download Grenada Knowledge Centre
Learn more Grenada Heads of State
Learn more Grenada Heads of Government
Learn more Grenada Leaders of the Opposition
Download Grenada Budget Statement 2017
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2018 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us