Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda
Parliament | House of Representatives | Senate | Cabinet

The Westminister-style bicameral Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda consists of Her Majesty the Queen of England (represented by a Governor-General), an appointed Senate and an elected House of Representatives. The Parliament consists of the 19-member House of Representatives, responsible for introducing legislation, and the 17-member Senate, which reviews and gives assent to proposed legislation.

Representatives are elected by popular vote in general elections that are constitutionally mandated every five years but may be called earlier. Senators are appointed by the Governor General. The major figures in Parliament and the government come from the House of Representatives. The Prime Minister is the leader of the party that holds the majority of seats in the House; the Opposition Leader is the representative, appointed by the Governor General, who appears to have the greatest support of those members opposed to the majority government.

The Prime Minister creates an executive government and advises the Governor General on the appointments to thirteen of the seventeen seats in the Senate. The leader of the opposition, recognized constitutionally, is responsible for advising the Governor General on the appointment of the remaining four senators to represent the opposition in the Senate. The Opposition Leader also consults with the Governor General, in conjunction with the Prime Minister, on the composition of other appointed bodies and commissions. In this way, the opposition is ensured a voice in government.

Current Parliament
The first meeting of the current parliament took place on Wednesday, 25 June 2014 following the general election of 12 June 2014.
President of the Senate
Senator the Hon. Alincia WILLIAMS-GRANT
Vice President
Senator the Hon. Osbert Richard FREDERICK
Past Members of the Senate
Speaker of the House of Representatives
Hon. Sir Gerald WATT, KCN, QC
Deputy Speaker
Hon. Dean JONAS
Past Members of the House of Representatives
source: http://www.ab.gov.ag/
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Antigua and Barbuda Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Throne Speeches
 Treaties & Agreements
 United Nations General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us