Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The Senate of Jamaica
Parliament | House | Senate | Heads of State | Heads of Government | Cabinet | Leaders of the Opposition
Members of the Senate | Presidents of the Senate

The Senate (upper house) – the direct successor of a pre-Independence body known as the "Legislative Council" – comprises 21 senators appointed by the Governor General: 13 on the advice of the Prime Minister and eight on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition.

Not more than four Ministers can be appointed from the Senate, and they may have portfolio responsibilities. The Senate usually functions as a review chamber, considering Bills passed by the House of Representatives. But the Senate may also initiate legislation, except money Bills. It cannot delay money Bills for more than one month nor any other Bill for more than seven months.

At the first meeting of a newly-appointed Senate, or when there is a vacancy, senators elect a President and a Deputy President. A minister or parliamentary secretary may not hold office as President or Deputy President.

Members of the Senate
  Members Name Party
  Senator Hon. Thomas George Lewis Tavares-Finson, JP, President Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Aubyn Rochester Hill, Deputy President Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Hon. Kamina Elizabeth Johnson Smith, Leader of Government Business Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Hon. Ruel Bancroft Reid, CD, JP Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Hon. Pearnel Patroe Charles, Jnr Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Ransford Braham Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Kavan Anthony Gayle Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Dr. Sapphire Inderea Longmore Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Kerensia Alicia Morrison Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Matthew Peter Samuda Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Charles Anthony Sinclair Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Donald George Wehby Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Delroy Hugh Williams Jamaica Labour Party
  Senator Mark Jefferson Golding, Leader of Opposition Business People's National Party
  Senator Hon.Keith Desmond St. Aubyn Knight, OJ,QC People's National Party
  Senator Floyd Emerson Morris People's National Party
  Senator Dr. Angela Rosemarie Brown-Burke People's National Party
  Senator Wensworth Kirkpatrick Skeffery People's National Party
  Senator Sophia Lilleth Fraser-Binns People's National Party
  Senator Lambert Alexander Brown, CD People's National Party
  Senator Noel Bancroft Sloley, CD People's National Party
Previous Members of the Senate

Second Simpson-Miller Administration

source: http://www.jis.gov.jm/government/about-government
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Jamaica Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Throne Speeches
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us