Updated: View Site Map Site Map
The House of Assembly of the Turks and Caicos Islands
Parliament | House of Assembly | Cabinet
Speakers of the House of Assembly | Current House of Assembly | 2012-2016 House of Assembly

There are 19 members of the Turks and Caicos Islands House of Assembly. Fifteen of these are directly elected by voters in an election, four are appointed by the Governor: he appoints two himself and agrees one nomination each from the Premier and Leader of the Opposition. The House also includes a Speaker, elected by the elected and appointed members of the House, and the Attorney General, who serves as non-voting ex-officio member.

The House of Assembly has 19 members - 15 elected and 4 appointed.
Elected Seats by Party
  People's Democratic Movement 10
  Progressive National Party 5
Elected Seats by Gender
  Men 9
  Women 6
Election Date
Thursday, 15 December 2016
First Meeting of Parliament
Thursday, 29 December 2016
Hon. Dwayne TAYLOR Speaker
Hon. Karen Evade MALCOLM, Deputy Speaker
Cabinet 2016 - present
House of Assembly (Powers and Privileges) Ordinance and Related Legislation (2009)
Eleventh Legislature of the House of Assembly
  Photo Members Name Electoral District Party
  Hon. Sharlene Linette CARTWRIGHT ROBINSON, Premier All Island District People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Sean Rickard ASTWOOD, Deputy Premier Five Cays People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Edwin ASTWOOD Grand Turk South People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Ralph HIGGS North & Middle Caicos People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Douglas PARNELL Cheshire Hall & Richmond Hill People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Goldray McMillin EWING Blue Hills People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Vaden Delroy WILLIAMS Wheeland People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Derek TAYLOR All Island District People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Josephine CONNOLLY All Island District People's Democratic Movement
  Hon. Karen Evade MALCOLM All Island District People's Democratic Movement
As at 15 December 2016
  Photo Members Name Electoral District Party
  Hon. Charles Washington MISICK All Island District Progressive National Party
  Hon. George Alexander LIGHTBOURNE Grand Turk North Progressive National Party
  Hon. Ruth Delores BLACKMAN South Caicos Progressive National Party
  Hon. Akierra Mary MISICK Leeward Progressive National Party
  Hon. Porsha Monique STUBBS SMITH The Bight Progressive National Party
As at 15 December 2016
    Members Name Affiliation
  Hon. Maxivonno THOMAS Government’s Appointed Member
  TBD Opposition’s Appointed Member
  Hon. John PHILLIPS Governor’s Appointed Member


Governor’s Appointed Member
As at 20 December 2016
source: http://www.gov.tc
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Turks and Caicos Islands Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Deputy Governors
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Throne Speeches
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us