Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Progressive Reform Party (VHP)

The Progressive Reform Party (Vooruitstrevende Hervormingspartij, VHP), formerly known as the "Verenigde Hindoestaanse Partij" (United Hindustani Party), is a political party in Suriname.  The VHP was formed in January 1949 by the merging of the Muslim Party (1946), the Hindustani, Javanese Political Party (1947) - led by Jagernath Lachmon - and the Surinamese Hindu Party (1947).  Lachmon was until his death the president of the VHP in 2001.  In 1973 the name was changed to Progressive Reform Party.

After the elections of 1973, the then Prime Minister Henck Arron that Suriname would be the Netherlands.  Independently appearance in 1975 Here the VHP was firmly opposed.  Within the coalition also ruled dissatisfaction about NPS and three parliamentarians also found that independence came too early.

At one point there was a stalemate in parliament.  The government could count only 19 seats.  Opponents of independence also had 19 seats.  When the VHP'er George Hindori decided to cooperate with the independent party chose eggs for her money and worked on the development of independence.

After the military coup in 1980 took the then military leader Desi Bouterse contact Lachmon.  Who wanted to do just political issues as the NPS was also involved.  So it Lachmon managed to involve herdemocratiseringsproces.  NPS and KTPI In 1985 Bouterse signed an agreement with the "old parties" and it was agreed to hold elections.  Within 27 months VHP-topper Pertaapnarain Radhakishun was Prime Minister of Suriname in 1986.

In 1987 formed the VHP, NPS and KTPI the New Front for Democracy and Development and they jointly acquired 40 of the 51 seats.

At the 2010 legislative elections, the party was part of the Nieuw Front political combination that won 31.6% of the popular votes and fourteen out of fifty-one seats in the National Assembly.  With eight seats, the VHP is currently the biggest opposition party in the Surinamese parliament.

Since 3 July 2011, Chan Santokhi has been the chairman of the party.  Previous chairman Ram Sardjoe is the honorary chairman.  According to current statistics, the Progressive Reform Party is the second biggest political party of Suriname (with Desi Bouterse's National Democratic Party being no. 1).

Leader Chan SANTOKHI
Founded January 1949
Party Colour Orange
Ideology Leading left-wing party
National Assembly seats 9/51
Status Active
Political Parties in Suriname
Suriname Elections
V7 2015 Manifesto
VHP 2015 Manifesto
NF 2010 Manifesto
NF 2005 Manifesto
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Suriname Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of State
 Inaugural Addresses
 National Budgets
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us