Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Congress of the People (COP)
The Congress of the People (COP) is a political party in Tobago and is a member of the People's Partnership coalition.

The party was formed on 10 September 2006 by Winston Dookeran, then the embattled Political Leader of the United National Congress announced at a rally that he was leaving the UNC and forming a new party. Dookeran and his supporters had been engaged in internal party feuding with the UNC executive which was loyal to party founder (then Chairman and former Leader) Basdeo Panday.

Dookeran was soon joined by UNC MPs Ganga Singh (who became the Party Whip) and Manohar Ramsaran. Two Independent MPs who had previously left the UNC, Gillian Lucky and Gerald Yetming, also joined the new party.

Former UNC Senators Robin Montano, Roy Augustus, Carol Seepersad Bachan and Sadiq Baksh also joined. Additionally, the entire Constituency Executives for Chaguanas and San Fernando West also quit the UNC. The support for Dookeran served as the catalyst for the formation of the new movement.

The Congress of the People (COP), is a partner party within the People's Partnership coalition which contested the 2015 general elections in Trinidad & Tobago. However, the COP contested eight (8) seats, but was only able to secure the St. Augustine seat, which was held by its political leader, Mr. Prakash Ramadhar. As a result of their election defeat at the polls, the COP together with the United National Congress (UNC) formed the opposition.



Leader Anirudh MAHABIR
Founded 10 September 2006
Party Colours Black and white
Party Symbol Circle of circles
Ideology Democratic Socalism, Social Liberalism
Political Position Centre-left
National Affiliation People's Partnership
House of Representatives seats 1/41
Status Active
Political Parties in Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad and Tobago Elections
General Election Manifestos
Download Manifesto
PP 2015 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
PP 2010 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
COP 2007 Manifesto
Local Government Election Manifestos
Download Manifesto
PP 2013 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
PP 2010 Manifesto
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Trinidad and Tobago Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of State
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Presidential Addresses to Parliament
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us