Updated: View Site Map Site Map
United National Congress (UNC)
The United National Congress (UNC) is a political party in Tobago and is a member of the People's Partnership coalition.

The United National Congress (UNC) is one of the two major political parties in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and one of the main parties in the current opposition. It was founded by Basdeo Panday, a lawyer and former trade unionist.

The UNC was formed as the result of a split in the ruling National Alliance for Reconstruction in 1988. After spending six years in opposition, the UNC won control of the government in 1995 (initially in coalition with the National Alliance for Reconstruction and later on its own).

In the 2000 general elections, the UNC won an absolute majority in the Parliament. In 2001, a split in the party caused the UNC to lose its parliamentary majority and control of the government. Between 1991 and 1995, and again from 2001 to 2010, the UNC was the Parliamentary Opposition party.

In May 2010, the UNC returned to government as the majority party in the People's Partnership. With this victory, the UNC's political leader Hon. Kamla Persad-Bissessar was sworn in as Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, the first woman to hold this position.

In the 2015 General Elections, the party won 17 of the 41 seats in the elections to form the main Opposition party in the 11th parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. Mrs. Kamla Persad-Bissessar was appointed Leader of the Opposition by President Anthony Carmona on 21 September 2015.

The party symbol is the rising sun above the Trinity Hills.



Founder Basdeo PANDAY
Founded 30 April 1989
Party Colours Yellow
Party Symbol Rising Sun
Ideology Democratic Socalism, Social Liberalism
Political Position Centre-left
National Affiliation People's Partnership
House of Representatives seats 18/41
Status Active
Political Parties in Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad and Tobago Elections
Political Leader Entered Office Left Office
Basdeo PANDAY 16 Oct 1988 2 Oct 2005
Winston DOOKERAN 2 Oct 2005 10 Sep 2006
Basdeo PANDAY 10 Sep 2006 24 Jan 2010
Kamla PERSAD-BISSESSAR 24 Jan 2010 incumbent
General Election Manifestos
Download Manifesto
PP 2015 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
PP 2010 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
UNC-Alliance 2007 Manifesto
Download Manifesto
UNC 2002 Manifesto
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit the Trinidad and Tobago Knowledge Centre
 Country Profile
 Country Studies
 Diplomacy & Aid
 Election Observers Reports
 Electoral Legislation
 Heads of State
 Heads of Government
 Inaugural Addresses
 Independence Messages
 Leaders of the Opposition
 National Budgets
 National Strategies and Policies
 Political Parties
 Presidential Addresses to Parliament
 Treaties & Agreements
 UN General Assembly Addresses
 GENERAL TOPICS Visit the Reading Room
 Caribbean Constitutions
 Caribbean Studies
 Citizenship Education
 Free Trade Agreements
 Green Economy
 Global Election Sites
 Human Development Reports
 Human Rights
 International Development Reports
 International Politics
 Multilateral Agencies
 National Budgets
 National Heroes
 National Strategies & Policies
 Political Party Manifestos
 Population and Housing Census
 Regional and International Integration
 Trade and Investment
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 KnowledgeWalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us