Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Political Parties Electoral Districts Results Past Elections Voter Education
Cayman Islands Country Profile

The Cayman Islands are a three-island group (Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, Little Cayman) in Caribbean Sea, 240 km south of Cuba and 268 km northwest of Jamaica. They were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency. The territory has transformed itself into a significant offshore financial center.

Full Name Cayman Islands
Geographic Coordinates 19 30 N, 80 30 W
Capital and Largest City George Town (31,000, 2014 est)
Area 264 sq km
Terrain Low-lying limestone base surrounded by coral reefs
Climate Tropical marine; warm, rainy summers (May to October) and cool, relatively dry winters (November to April)
Internet domain .ky
International dialling code +1 345
Nationality Caymanian(s)
Population 57,268 (July 2016 est.)
Annual Growth Rate 2.05% (2016 est.)
Ethnic Groups mixed 40%, white 20%, black 20%, expatriates of various ethnic groups 20%
Major Languages English (official) 90.9%, Spanish 4%, Filipino 3.3%, other 1.7%, unspecified 0.1% (2010 est.)
Major Religions Protestant 67.8% (includes Church of God 22.6%, Seventh Day Adventist 9.4%, Presbyterian/United Church 8.6%, Baptist 8.3%, Pentecostal 7.1%, non-denominational 5.3%, Anglican 4.1%, Wesleyan Holiness 2.4%), Roman Catholic 14.1%, Jehovah's Witness 1.1%, other 7%, none 9.3%, unspecified 0.7% (2010 est.)
Adult Literacy 98.9%
Infant Mortality Rate 6 deaths/1,000 live births
Life expectancy Total population - 81.2 years;  male – 78.5 years; female –84.0 years (2016 est.)
Type Parliamentary democracy; self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom
Dependency Status Overseas territory of the United Kingdom
Constitution several previous; latest approved 10 June 2009, entered into force 6 November 2009 (The Cayman Islands Constitution Order 2009) | Learn more »
Executive Branch Governor (representing Queen Elizabeth II, head of state), Premier (head of government), Cabinet.
Executive Branch

Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Martyn ROPER (since 29 October 2018) | Learn more »

Head of Government: Premier Alden McLAUGHLIN (since 29 May 2013) | Learn more »

Cabinet: Cabinet selected from the Legislative Assembly and appointed by the Governor on the advice of the Premier | Learn more »

Elections/appointments: the monarchy is hereditary; Governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition usually appointed premier by the Governor.

Legislative Branch

unicameral Legislative Assembly (21 seats; 19 members directly elected by majority vote and 2 ex officio members - the deputy governor and attorney general - appointed by the governor; members serve 4-year terms) | Learn more »

Elections: Legislative Assembly - last held on 24 May 2017 (next to be held in 2021) | Learn more »

Election results: percent of vote by party - independent 44.7%, PPM 31.2%, CDP 24.1%; seats by party - independent 9, PPM 7, CDP 3 | Learn more »

Judicial Branch

Highest Court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the court president and at least 2 judges); Grand Court (consists of the court president and at least 2 judges); note - appeals beyond the Court of Appeal are heard by the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (in London)

Judge selection and term of office: Court of Appeal and Grand Court judges appointed by the governor on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission, an 8-member independent body consisting of governor appointees, Court of Appeal president, and attorneys; Court of Appeal judges' tenure based on their individual instruments of appointment; Grand Court judges normally appointed until retirement at age 65 but can be extended until age 70

Subordinate courts: Summary Court

Legislature Parliament of the Cayman Islands| Learn more »
Parliament Name Legislative Assembly of the Cayman Islands | Learn more »
Structure of Parliament Unicameral | Learn more »
Members of Parliament 19 members elected at least every five years by universal adult suffrage
Electoral Law Election Law of 2004 | Learn more »
Electoral Districts 19 single-member electoral districts | Learn more »
Voting System In the Legislative Assembly, 19 members are elected by simple majority vote (first past the post).in single-member constituencies
Term of Office 4 years
Voter Requirements Age: 18 years. The voter has been resident in the Cayman Islands for a period or periods amounting to not less than two years out of the four years immediately preceding the relevant date.
Suffrage Universal at 18 years of age
Electoral Authority Supervisor of Elections
Last Parliamentary Election 24 May 2017 | Learn more »
Next Parliamentary Election May 2021 | Learn more »
Number of Register Electors Approximately 21,228 (2017)
Party Code Political Leader Candidates in 2017 Election Seats in Legislative Assembly
2017 2013
  People's Progressive Party PPM Alden McLAUGHLIN 15 7 9
  Cayman Democratic Party CDP McKeeva BUSH 11 3 3
GDP (purchasing power parity) USD$2.507 billion (2014 est.)
GDP Growth Rate 1.7% (2014 est.)
GDP Per Capita $43,000 (2014 est.)
Inflation Rate 1.4% (2016 est.)
Unemployment 4% (2008 est.)
Main Exports Turtle products, manufactured consumer goods
Monetary Unit 1 Caymanian dollar (KYD)  = 100 cents
Official Exchange Rate KYD 1.00 = USD 1.22
   Cayman Islands Country Profile
   Cayman Islands Government Structure
   Cayman Islands Election Basics
   The Parliament of the Cayman Islands
   Political History and Dynamics
   Cayman Islands Heads of Government
   Electoral Legislation
   Cayman Islands Timeline
   Teacher Resources
   Glossary of Election Terms
  People's Progressive Movement
  Cayman Democratic Party
 PARTY 2017 MAIFESTOS learn more
Download PPM 2017 Manifesto
Download CDP 2017 Manifesto
Download Cayman Islands Knowledge Centre
Learn more Cayman Islands Governors
Learn more Cayman Islands Heads of Government
Learn more Cayman Islands Opposition Leaders
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
CDP = Cayman Democratic Party; PPM = People's Progressive Movement; IND = Inpendent candidate; * Incumbent; ** Political Leader
Cayman Islands Elections Office
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us