Updated: View Site Map Site Map
Montserrat Election Centre Parties Districts Candidates Results Past Elections Education
Montserrat General Election Results - 31 May 2006

General elections were held in Montserrat on 31 May 2006.

Electoral System

The Legislative Assembly has eleven members, of which nine are elected. The other two seats are taken by the Attorney General and the Financial Secretary. The British Overseas Territory is a single nine-member constituency, with voters able to vote for up to nine candidates on their ballot paper.


The Legislative Council was dissolved on Tuesday, 5 April 2006 by Governor Mrs. Deborah Barnes-Jones at the expiration of five years from the date when the Council first meets after the 5 April 2001 general elections. Nomination Day was set for 15 May 2006.
Of the seven who made up the New People’s Liberation Movement (NPLM) victory in 2001, three (Chedmond Browne, Dr. Lowell Lewis, and Claude Hogan) had left the party. In September 2005, Mrs. Annie Dyer-Howe left NPLM saying that projects were being held up and the British government was not even on speaking terms with the chief minister. She returned to the party a few weeks later, after her actions failed to get the expected reaction of the opposition grabbing her and collapsing the government.

Political Parties & Candidates

Twenty-nine candidates – 25 men and 4 women - contested the elections. The nine seats were contested by three parties – the New People’s Liberation Movement (NPLM) led by outgoing Chief Minister John Osborne, the Movement for Change and Prosperity (MCAP) led by outgoing opposition leader Roselyn Cassell-Sealy and the Montserrat Democratic Party led by Lowell Lewis – and 4 independent candidates. There were 10 first-time candidates in the election.

Election Campaign

MCAP's campaign was centred on development issues facing the island, still dealing with the challenge of the Soufriere Hills volcano.


The election resulted in Lowell Lewis receiving the highest number of votes, followed by four MCAP candidates.  The MCAP won 26.1% of the popular vote.  The remaining seats went to three NPLM (29.4% of votes) and an independent. 

Voter Turnout

There was a 77% turnout of the 3,331-member electorate in the well-organised and orderly election.


Although the MCAP won the most seats in the Legislative Council, the newly formed government, led by Dr. Lewis, was a coalition between the MDP, the NPLM, and an independent.  Dr. Lewis was sworn in as the seventh Chief Minister of Montserrat on 2 June 2006.
MCAP, with leader Roselyn Cassell-Sealy, Reuben T. Meade, Charles Kirnon, and Joseph (Easton) Farrell, formed the opposition.
The first sitting of the new Legislative Assembly was held on Friday, 9 June 2006.

Seat Distribution
Electoral Map
System Voters vote for up to nine candidates on their ballot paper
Elected Members A single nine-member constituency
Total Valid Ballots 2,459
Invalid Ballots 27
Total Ballots Cast 2,486
Registered Voters 3,331
Voter Turnout 74.63%
Dissolution of Legislative Assembly Tue, 4 Apr 2006
Nomination Day Mon, 5 May 2006
Polling Day Wed, 31 May 2006
First Meeting of Parliament Fri, 9 Jun 2006
PARTY MANIFESTOS View all Members of Parliament of Barbados
MDP 2006 Manifesto
Party Code Votes % votes Candidates Seats
Movement for Change and Prosperity MCAP - 36.10% 9 4
New People's Liberation Movement NPLM - 29.40% 8 3
Montserrat Democratic Party MDP - 24.40% 8 1
Independents IND - 10.10% 4 1
Total - 100% 29 9
ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL View all Members of Parliament of Barbados
The unicameral Legislative Council compries 11 seats - 9 members popularly elected to serve five-year terms; the Attorney General and Financial Secretary sit as ex-officio members. The Council was constituted as follows:
Representative Party
Lowell L. LEWIS Montserrat Democratic Party
Idabelle MEADE New People's Liberation Movement
Margaret DYER-HOWE New People's Liberation Movement
John A. OSBORNE New People's Liberation Movement
David S. BRANDT Independent
Roselyn CASSELL-SEALY Movement for Change and Prosperity
Reuben T. MEADE Movement for Change and Prosperity
Charles KIRNON Movement for Change and Prosperity
Joseph 'Easton Taylor' FARRELL Movement for Change and Prosperity
MCAP = Movement for Change and Prosperity; MNC = Montserrat National Congress; MULP = Montserrat United Labour Party; PDM = People's Democratic Movement; IND = Independent Candidate; *incumbent; ** Political Leader
Montserrat Electoral Commission
Fact Check
We strive for accuracy and fairness. If you see something that doesn't look right, or if you would like to share additional information on the topic, kindly contact us!
How to Reference Our Site
To reference our site, please use the following as a general guideline.
APA: KnowledgeWalk Institute. (Date Published).Title of Web Page. Retrieved from (URL)
MLA: "Title of Web Page." caribbeanelections.com. KnowledgeWalk Institute, (date published). Web. Date Accessed.
Chicago: "Title of Web Page," KnowledgeWalk Institute, last modified (date), URL.
   General Election 1952
   General Election 1955
   General Election 1958
   General Election 1961
   General Election 1966
   General Election 1970
   General Election 1973
   General Election 1978
   General Election 1983
   General Election 1987
   General Election 1991
   General Election 1996
   General Election 2001
   General Election 2006
   General Election 2009
   General Election 2014
   General Election 2019
  Montserrat National Congress
  Montserrat United Labour Party
  Movement for Change and Prosperity
  People's Democratic Movement
Download MCAP 2019 Manifesto
Download MNC 2019 Manifesto
Download PDM 2019 Manifesto
Download Karen Allen 2019 Manifesto
Download Ingrid Buffonge 2019 Manifesto
Download Montserrat Knowledge Centre
Learn more Montserrat Heads of State
Learn more Montserrat Heads of Government
Learn more Montserrat Opposition Leaders
Download Montserrat Constitution Order 2010
Download Election Observer Mission Report 2014
Caribbean Elections
Caribbean Elections provides comprehensive information on the electoral process, politics, and citizenship in the Caribbean. The portal includes election data and resources for the public, teachers, students, and researchers.
Learn more about CE»
Visit KnowledgeWalk Institute © 2008-2019 Knowledgewalk Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use  | Advertise With Us | About Us | Contact Us